Home News Chief Edward Onoja graces ICDA AGM, thanks current leadership for upgrading standards

Chief Edward Onoja graces ICDA AGM, thanks current leadership for upgrading standards


The Deputy Governor of Kogi State, Chief Edward David Onoja (CIK), yesterday, 2nd of August, attended the 2020 Edition of the “Igala Merit Award” which held at the Igala Unity House in Anyigba, Dekina Local Government Area of the State.

The ICDA Igala Merit Award is an award that recognizes prestigious sons and daughters of Igala extraction doing great things and contributing their bit in elevating the fortunes of the land.

Chief Onoja who was a special guest at the occasion appreciated all Igala sons and daughters, alive and dead who participated valiantly in changing the narrative of the Igala Kingdom for better. He said that good can only be achieved through collective effort, while signaling the efforts of the leadership at the ICDA for leading the line.

The Deputy Governor also commended the members of the ICDA Board of Trustees, describing them as a group of people with “verifiable records” and whose minds will collectively rewrite the history of Igala Kingdom for years to come.

‘The hierarchy at the ICDA has consistently showed “selflessness”, and has displaced the selfishness that characterized the group in the past’, Onoja declared.

He further stated that the present administration has set a benchmark, elevating the standard for future administrations.

He thereafter prayed for everyone who means we’ll for Igala Kingdom, while chastising those whose aim is to bring down the Igala race through malice and self aggrandizement.

Speaking further, Chief Edward Onoja noted that the love for Igala Kingdom can only be shown through the actions of her people, and not just words.

To demonstrate his point, he immediately initiated a fundraiser for the painting and maintenance of the outdoor area of the Igala Unity House, which the sum of 1 million naira was needed of which over 2.5M was raised on the spot. He urged every Igala people to inculcate the virtues of the ICDA – honesty, selflessness and love – in putting Igala Kingdom where it is supposed to be, at the pinnacle of the Nigerian race.

The recipients of the award are listed below;

Professor Stephen Ocheni
Hajia Salamatu Baiwa
Professor Seidu Onailo
Professor Lucy Jumeyi Ogbadu, Ph.D
Hon. Abdullahi Ibrahim Ali Halims
Hon. David Idris Zachariahs
Navy Commodore Godwin Obaje, DSS
Chief Ogwu James Onoja, SAN
Barr. Festus Ameh Oguche
Dr. (Mrs). Jumai Ahmadu
Engr. Dr. Sule. A. Haruna, FNSE
Alhaji Shuaibu Abubakar Audu
Ocholi Yusuf Okpanachi
Samuel A. Alfa, Ph.D, MBA
Salihu Ibrahim Kindo
Onoja James Okpanachi
Hon. Baba Ojonugwa J.F.O
Tom Makolo Jnr
Chief Hilary Edime Amodu
Amb. Yunusa Gabriel Enemali
Coach Abubakar Kamar Olachene
Anaja Michael Marijata
Benjamin Peter Ebiloma
Hon. Haruna Yusuf

While Post Humours award were bestowed upon,

Mr Francis Abah Akogwu
Alhaji Muhammed Onalo (Paul Odi)
Alhaji Yahaya Momoh (Ogbogodo).

After dissolution of the ICDA Board of Trustees, a new interim management board has been constituted which includes the following and LGAs they represent:

The Interim Board of Trustees

Ibaji – Professor Ogwu Benjamin
Ankpa – Barrister Kabiru Muhammed Usman
Olamaboro – Mr Emmanuel Odiniya Gideon
Dekina – Dr Moses Alidu Abu
Idah – Professor Armstrong Idachaba
Igalamela-Odolu – Professor Stephen Ocheni
Bassa – Mr Solomon Alfa
Omala – Alhaji Suleiman Ibrahim
Ofu – Utah Zakhamal Idakunyi
Youth – Thompson Makolo Jnr


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here